Derived from the Latin word meaning glue, gluten is a generic term for a mixture of proteins, fats and carbohydrates which, by adding water during kneading, form an elastic network. The resulting sticky mass allows breads to rise and retain moisture. Primarily, it is wheat protein that is categorised under the term ‘gluten’. Those suffering from Celiac disease or who have a gluten intolerance should avoid a variety of cereals including rye, wheat, barley and spelt.
There are many alternatives, however, that can be used instead including quinoa, amaranth, corn, rye and millet. Significantly, gluten can be present in a variety of prepared and processed foods where it is used as a thickening agent: it is therefore important for those with a gluten intolerance to pay particular attention to ingredients labels. With these people in mind, we have created a delicious range of gluten free breads.